|Marriage License Information|
Marriage Licenses can be obtained in the Cook County Recorder’s Office. A Marriage License must be applied for in person by both parties. Applicants do not have to be Cook County residents. There is a 5 day waiting period until the marriage license can be issued. If you are unable to wait 5 days, it is possible to get a signed waiver from the judge so that you can be married in less than 5 days.
In order to apply for a marriage license, you must know the following:
Applying for a Marriage License
The marriage license fee for couples who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40.00. The fee for the license is $115.00 if you have not met the premarital education requirements. A certified copy of the marriage certificate can be obtained for $9.00.
Premarital Education Certificate
The marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a signed and dated statement from the person who provided the premarital education confirming that it was received at the time the application for license is made. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister’s designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33. The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under must be in the following form:
“I, (name of educator), confirm that (names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and www.lutboutique.com conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33”
The names of the parties in the educator’s statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the marriage license application.
NOTE: Marriage records are kept on a county level and must be obtained from the county in which the application for license was submitted. This may not be the county in which the wedding took place. There is a website available in which you can search for where the marriage certificate can be obtained: MOMS.mn.gov